Mayor's New Year's Honour List 2021

London Mayor Ed Holder is pleased to announce the annual Mayor’s New Year’s Honour List, celebrating members of the London community in ten categories of achievement to recognize the diversity of philanthropic work taking place in our city.

The 2021 honourees are:

  • Gerry LaHay (posthumously) – Accessibility
  • Jean Knight - Age Friendly
  • Betty Anne Younker – Arts
  • Mitchell A. Baran (posthumously) – Distinguished Londoner
  • Wayne Dunn – Distinguished Londoner
  • Jim Campbell – Distinguished Londoner
  • Joey Hollingsworth – Distinguished Londoner
  • Mary Alikakos - Diversity
  • Marianne Griffith – Environment
  • Sylvia Chodas – Heritage
  • Dr. Abe Oudshoorn  – Housing
  • Jeremy McCall - Humanitarianism
  • Murray Howard – Sports

“Anyone in search of inspiration at the start of this new year, need look no further than these truly remarkable Londoners,” said Mayor Ed Holder. “Each of these individuals represent the very best of London, and each of them have played significant roles in building an even better London. On behalf of City Council, it is my sincere honour to celebrate those efforts by virtue of this recognition.”

The Mayor of London’s annual Honour List began in 1976 with recognition of contributions to the Arts. Since 1989, the additional categories of Diversity & Race Relations; The Environment; Heritage; Housing; Humanitarianism; Persons with Disabilities; Safety & Crime Prevention; Accessibility; Age Friendly and Sports have been added. Recipients are named by City Council, on the recommendation of Advisory Committees or community organizations, through the City’s Standing Committees.

In 2019, City Council added a ‘Distinguished Londoner’ category, meant to recognize no more than four individuals who have made an “outstanding contribution to community collaboration, or acts of good will by giving back to our City.”

More information about this year's honourees.

Last modified:Friday, January 01, 2021